Via Crusis: A Journey to the Stations of the Cross

Last Good Friday, April 6, 2012, as part of my Journey to Balaan Bukid to witness Ang Pagtaltal sa Guimaras, I got a chance to visit the 14 Stations of the Cross.

Balaan Bukid (Holy Mountain) is the one with the big cross on top of the hill if you are looking at the island from Iloilo City. It is a 45-minutes trek from the foot of the mountain in Brgy Hoskyn some 3 kilometers away from the town proper of Jordan, Guimaras. It has a rocky and steep trails that leads to the peak of the mountain. Going to the top of Balaan Bukid is a way of offering sacrifice by the people during Holy Week.

As part of offering my sacrifice, i almost take two hours of walking under the heat of the sun to reach the summit. Along the way is the 14 Stations of the Cross representing the scenes in the Passion of Christ. As i visit each station, i offered a prayer and intentions. This is also my way to take some rest in order to reach the summit.

Stations of the Cross (or Way of the Cross; in Latin, Via Crucis) is a series of representations depicting Christ Carrying the Cross to his crucifixion in the final hours (or Passion) of Jesus before he died. The object of the Stations is to help the faithful to make a spiritual pilgrimage of prayer, through meditating upon the chief scenes of Christ’s sufferings and death. It has become one of the most popular devotions for Roman Catholics, and is often performed in a spirit of reparation for the sufferings and insults that Jesus endured during His Passion.

Here are the 14 Stations of the Cross in Balaan Bukid:

Station 1 of the Cross

Station 1: Jesus is condemned to death

Station 2 of the Cross

Station 2: Jesus is made to bear his cross

Station 3 of the Cross

Station 3: Jesus falls the first time

Station 4 of the Cross

Station 4: Jesus meets his mother

Station 5 of the Cross

Station 5: Simon helps Jesus carry his cross

Station 6 of the Cross

Station 6: Veronica wipes the face of Jesus

Station 7 of the Cross

Station 7: Jesus falls the second time

Station 8 of the Cross

Station 8: Jesus meets the women of Jerusalem

Station 9 of the Cross

Station 9: Jesus falls the third time

Station 10 of the Cross

Station 10: Jesus is stripped of his garments

Station 11 of the Cross

Station 11: Jesus is nailed to the cross

Station 12 of the Cross

Station 12: Jesus dies on the cross

Station 13 of the Cross

Station 13: Jesus is taken down from the cross

Station 14 of the Cross

Station 14: Jesus is laid in his tomb

This entry was posted in Featured and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply