Iloilo City for New 7 Wonder Cities

Iloilo City was nominated to be a part of the 17 cities in Phase One of the New7Wonders of Cities. The New7Wonder Cities search is the third campaign organized by New7Wonders, following the man-made New7Wonders of the World and the New7Wonders of Nature.


Nominated in the first phase of the prestigious search are Bacolod City, Cebu City, General Santos City, Vigan City, Legaspi City, Baguio City, Davao City, Iloilo City, Zamboanga City, Tagaytay City, and Puerto Princesa City, the home of the Underground River.

The Iloilo City Government and the City Tourism Office is now having a widespread promotion to make the metropolis as one of the seven wonder cities of the world.

In the nomination phase (January 7 – March 7, 2012) the global vote for New 7 Wonder Cities starts with more than 1200+nominees from 220+ countries around the world.

The Qualification Phase (March 7 –November 23, 2012) will have more than 300 cities to qualify for this phase (one per country plus the top 77 voted). While in the Shortlist Phase (November 23 –December 6, 2012), from the top 77 voted during the qualification phase, the New & Wonders Cities Panel of Experts advises on the selection of the 28 official finalist candidates.

The finalist phases which runs from December 7, 2012 – December 6, 2013), voting continues across three phases. The official New 7 Wonders Cities, voted by hundreds of millions of people from around the world will be revealed on December 7, 2013.

As of posting time, Iloilo City Ranks 4th in Southeast Asia & Oceania for New7Wonders Cities.


To nominate Iloilo City, just go to

This entry was posted in Places and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply